Democratic Republic of Congo



Formerly a French territory, Congo reached independence in 1960 and became the Republic of the Congo. The country is also known as Congo-Brazzaville and is the largest Francophone African nation. The capital of Congo is Brazzaville. For the first time in 1992, a democratically elected government took office. However, a civil war in 1997 marked the beginning of a contemporaneous period of ethnic and political unrest. A final peace accord was reached in March 2003.


According to the World Bank, despite the fact that the Republic of Congo is sub-Saharan Africa's main oil producers, nearly half of Congolese live in poverty. The country’s history has been shaped by repeated civil wars and militia conflicts.


The population of Congo is 4.9 million. The major languages of Congo include French and indigenous African languages, and commonly practiced religions are Christianity and indigenous African beliefs.


In July of 2017, the CIA Factbook reported that population estimates for the Republic of Congo explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS. Sadly, the country has suffered significant loss of life due to the epidemic. The spread of HIV has led to an overall decrease in life expectancy, higher infant mortality, lower population growth rates, and changes in the distribution of population by age and gender than otherwise would be expected.


Primary industries within the nation include sugar, flour, lumber, and cement, and common agricultural crops are corn, sugar, vegetables, coffee, and cocoa.


342,000 sq. km. (132,047 sq. miles)


57 years (men), 59 years (women)

life expectancy



Stay In The Loop

sign up for our e-newsletter

receive emails about our artisans, new products, and gifts that create opportunity.

no thanks

Back to top